2016 Annual Australasian Public Choice Conference

The 9th Annual Australasian Public Choice Society Conference will be hosted by the Research School of Social Sciences School of Philosophy at the Australian National University.

The plenary speakers for this conference will be:

- Keith Dowding (SPIR, ANU)

- Mike Munger (Political Science, Duke University)

Registration Fee:

$200; concession: $150 for full-time doctoral students.

This cost includes the conference dinner (Thursday evening) and lunch on both days, plus catered coffee breaks.

Paper Proposals:

Proposals for submission close on Wednesday October 5th. Please submit the title of your paper and a brief abstract. Any papers that deal with public choice (the economic theory of politics) are in principle acceptable.

You will be informed by October 10th as to whether your proposal is accepted. If you submit a proposal before the due date, you will be informed of whether the proposal is accepted within a week of submission. This may help you in planning your attendance.

If accepted, you will be required to send your paper to Geoffrey Brennan by November 24th.

Paper-givers will normally be expected to also act as a discussant of a paper; and discussant’s duties will be assigned by December 1st. At that time, we will be able to indicate (in the light of total registrations) precisely how long paper-givers will have for their presentations and how much time can be allocated to discussants. We will also be able to provide a provisional program.

Conference Registration:

Registration closes on October 15th. Late registrations will be subject to a penalty of $75.
If you would like to act as a chair of a session or a discussant but not present a paper, please indicate this on your registration form.


University House - Hotel Accommodation

Please ensure upon booking that you notify the University House staff that you will be attending the APCC 2016 Conference at the School of Philosophy.

Date & time

Thu 08 Dec 2016, 9:00am to Fri 09 Dec 2016, 5:00pm


Australian National University


Updated:  4 July 2017/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications