Philosophy 2017 Australian Research Council Grant Recipients

Philosophy 2017 Australian Research Council Grant Recipients
Tuesday 8 November 2016

Thirteen projects proposed by academics from the College of Arts and Social Sciences have received funding from the Australian Research Council (ARC). A range of projects from the College have won a total of $5.1m in funding, this includes two ARC Furture Fellowships, seven Discovery Early Career Researcher Awards (DECRAs) and four Discovery Projects. The ANU as a whole has received more than $43 million for 91 proposals.

Associate Dean (Research), Associate Professor Ann Evans said the most exciting part of the announcement is the breadth of the activities that have been funded.“This is a very strong performance from CASS, and provides funding for some of our best emerging early and mid-career researchers.”

“Right across the Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences, CASS is being recognised for its world-leading research strengths.”

Academics from the School of Philosophy have won two Future Fellowships and Discovery Project funding for two projets.

Dr Nicholas Southwood and Dr Koji Tanaka from the School of Philosophy have both received ARC Future Fellowships. Dr Southwood will research feasibility in politics in collaboration with colleagues from Princeton University, the London School of Economics and Political Science, Oxford University and the World Bank. Dr Tanaka’s project will investigate a theory about the nature of logic and rationality and advance intellectual engagement between Buddhist and Western philosophers.

Seth Lazar, Frank Jackson, Alan Hajek, Philip Petit and Katie Steele have recieved a Discovery Project Grant which will be used to develop a theory of risk using the tools of ethics and decision theory.

Daniel Stoljar and David Chalmers have also gained a Discovery Project Grant. They will be studying the language used to describe states of consciousness utilising the modern philosophy of language and linguistics.


Updated:  8 November 2016/Responsible Officer:  Head of School/Page Contact:  CASS Marketing & Communications